

John Vederas is Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry at the University of Alberta in Edmonton. He obtained a Bachelors degree in Chemistry from Stanford University and а Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with George Büchi. He then did postdoctoral work at the University of Basel (Switzerland) with Christoph Tamm and at Purdue University with Heinz Floss prior to joining the University of Alberta in 1977. His research centers on the formation of important biological molecules, including peptides, amino acid metabolites, and polyketides. The approach is interdisciplinary and encompasses organic synthesis and associated techniques, as well as isotopic labelling, structure elucidation and molecular details of biochemical mechanisms. This has resulted in >350

publications, 24 issued patents and 2 ongoing biotech companies. Thus far 71 Ph.D. and 9 M.Sc. students as well as >70 postdoctoral fellows and >70 undergraduates have completed studies in his group. The group currently has 9 graduate students and 2 postdoctoral fellows.

Selected Honors and Awards

John Vederas was elected Fellow of the Royal Society (London, 2009), Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1997), Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (2014) and Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR, 2016). He has received recognition for research and teaching from University of Alberta, including the Rutherford Award for Undergraduate Teaching (1995), the University Cup (1998), the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Research (2003), the Killam Award for Mentoring (2003) and the Klawe Award for Excellence in Teaching Large Classes (2006). He is an Alberta Centennial Medal recipient (2006). He was awarded the Merck Award (1986), the John Labatt Award (1991), the R. U. Lemieux Award (2002) and the Alfred Bader Award (2005) from the Canadian Society for Chemistry for his research. He received the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) Medal for 2008 and the Alberta Science and Technology (ASTech) Outstanding Leadership in Science Award (2010). He served in numerous scientific organizations, was President of the Canadian Society for Chemistry (2002-2003), a Member of Council at the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) (2001-2004), Chair of the 2008 Annual Conference of the Canadian Society for Chemistry and was Chair of the Chemical Institute of Canada (2015-2016). In 2017 he was co-chair of the American Peptide Symposium.